Types of sarees

1. Kanjeevaram Silk – Tamilnadu

Pink Kanjeevaram

Kanjeevaram Silks are traditionally hand-woven sarees from the place called Kanjeevaram. They are usually worn for marriages or any other special occasions. These types of sarees are made from the mulberry thread which is from South India.

2. Kalamkari – Srikalahasthi

Kalamkari saree

Kalamkari is a cotton material which is hand-painted or printed. These are known to be evolved from Andhra Pradesh. These designs are drawn manually and consist of chariot, temple design and depiction of scenarios from Hindu epics or Deities. Uniquely this process consists of 23 steps and is done only with Natural dye.

3. Kasavu sarees – Kerala

kasavu saree

Kasavu saree is originally from Buddhist era but has become salient in Kerala. In addition these are cream coloured sarees with golden borders. This is considered as very auspicious attire in Kerala. Now the typical golden border is replaced with other kind of designed borders and also the colours.

4. Sambalpuri – Odisha.

Sambalpuri saree

Sambalpuri Sarees are done with Ikat print which is now one of the popularly known or worn sarees. These sarees are woven in districts of Odisha. The process to produce such sarees would take many weeks. These sarees became familiar after Indira Gandhi started wearing such type of sarees.

5. Pochampally – Telangana

Pochampally saree

Pochampallly sarees are produced in Telangana state. These Ikat designs were initially woven in Telangana, Gujarat and Odisha. The Air India’s cabin crew drapes specially woven Pochampally silk sarees.

6. Paithani – Maharashtra

blue paithani saree

Painthani Saree is named after a town called Paithan in Aurangabad District. Aditionally, these sarees have box designed borders and peacock designed pallu. Two most popular designs are plain, single coloured design and kaleidoscope design.

7. Bandhani – Gujarat.

Bandhani types of sarees

The word Bandhani comes from a Sanskrit word called bandh which means to tie. Uniquely these sarees are made by tie-dying where they tie the sarees in different patterns which in turn produces different kind of designs. Furthermore the major colours are all natural.

7. Muga – Assam.

This fabric naturally has a golden tint which was only for the royals once upon a time. As a matter of fact these types of sarees were very expensive as buying it was compared with buying gold. Muga sarees have evolved to become Bridal sarees.

Please follow and like us:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *